Regurgitating English: What are we digesting?

As a professional writer, I am more aware of syntax, poor grammar and punctuation issues than the average Joe or Josephine. In fact, it almost seems like there are increasing issues as our technology continues to rapidly develop. With the imploding invasion of the ability to text message on cell phones, tweet ourselves silly, or leave moment by moment updates in just about every social network site on the planet, we are facing a new type of functional illiteracy. While I have always been an avid user of the dictionary, I find myself continuously at a loss with many of the text messages, instant messages and/or emails that I receive. It is concerning when I read written messages conveyed by people and I cannot even begin to decipher what they are trying to say. Something is seriously wrong with this picture. It is like being served chopped liver, and we need a new dictionary to help digest and process what many people are trying to say!

I am not sure whether I would be so sensitive to this situation if it were not for the fact that work as a writing professional. I have friends who are English professors that have admitted that this is becoming unbearable for them as well.

This problem is everywhere, to include the business world. Sloppy resumes with misspelled words, or websites advertising products and representing companies with the companies names misspelled (yes, I have seen it all)! Websites that are filled with incorrect spelling, bad vocabulary and atrocious grammar. You don’t have to go far to find this. With the click of your mouse, you can find a wide array of sites filled with menus that are a regurgitation of what used to be proper English.

Perhaps I am wrong, but if a website or ad is not written to an acceptable and intelligent standard, it might cost you business. Having award-winning images and stellar graphics are worthless if the content is not right. In fact, I believe it is a serious waste of money!


4 Comments

Filed under Blogging

4 responses to “Regurgitating English: What are we digesting?

  1. Gray Hunter

    An ad or website with spelling as atrocious as you note is probably a scam. Maybe you should stay away.

    So, are you averse to text messaging? Are you one who believes that it is detrimental to literacy, etc?

    • Hahaha! The truth is, they are not scams. I recently worked on a website for a prestigious company, and they not only had grammatical errors throughout, but actually misspelled the name of one of the companies they represent! Staying away is not the answer, but as a writing professional, it is concerning to see these kind of things happening not only in the business/professional world, but in so many other facets of life. I am not adverse to text messaging at all. I text message, but generally spell out my sentences… I know, that probably seems odd. Blame it on the day job. I don’t believe it is detrimental to literacy per say, but perhaps it could affect it at some level.

  2. Gray Hunter

    I admit, I spell out my sentences, too, in texting.

    The badly spelled ads I’ve seen are scams. The ones that aren’t, well, I agree, it’s just wrong.

    • Ah, you are a man after my own heart! So good to hear. I am sure you are right about some of those so-called ads… Some are scams, but many are not. At least, that’s been my experience.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

